NOTE: Notify the police if you suspect your plate was stolen. Vehicle registration in Arizona MUST be completed in person at your local MVD office. After you submit all other required documents, your registration fees and taxes will be backdated to the date you acquired your temporary registration, and you will be responsible for full payment. Some offices may accept credit cards. Copyright © Arizona Department of Transportation – All rights reserved. Customers who register their vehicle for two or five years will not be charged the public safety fee for years starting in July 2021 or later. If you do not have the title for your vehicle, you'll also need to have a VIN inspection performed. It is necessary to register and to renew the registration fee annually for non operation vehicles for the reason that if a non operation car is caught on the street without registration then the owner has to pay a hefty penalty. Check with your company commander for more information. Note: Even if the seller inadvertently leaves the plates on the vehicle, you cannot drive it until it's registered under your name. Most vehicles may be registered for one, two or five years at a time. When you register your vehicle, the Motor Vehicle Division will issue you a license plate before you leave to attach to your car. Subscribe to stay in the loop & on the road! description ServiceArizona is now AZ MVD Now: Vehicle De-Insured Certificate This service has moved to AZ MVD Now. Get free quotes from the nation's biggest auto insurance providers. Once paid, it is nonrefundable. This will be provided by the inspection station upon passing. If you need a duplicate license plate, you may apply by mail by submitting: If you wish to re-register a non-operational vehicle that was registered within the last 5 years, visit your MVD office with: If your vehicle has not been registered within the last 5 years, contact the MVD for re-registration requirements. I certify that I am the registered owner or lessee of the above described vehicle and that the vehicle was not operated on any public roadway in Arizona from the expiration date of the vehicle registration until the date of application for the registration renewal. However, you may need to comply with the state's emissions laws, depending on your location and/or situation. Should this occur, surrender the plates to any MVD office. Registering a Non-Operational Vehicle. Formerly named Non-Use Certificate. 2020 ADOT- This is a Free Drupal Theme, Transportation Systems Management and Operations, Law Enforcement Resources/AZ Crash Report. Most vehicles 5 years old or newer are exempt. Copyright © Arizona Department of Transportation – All rights reserved. Start PNO DMV will accept PNO filings up to 60 days before registration expires or up to 90 days after registration expires. When you're ready to apply, visit your local Arizona MVD office with: The MVD will mail you the registration documents and license plate tabs; the paper receipt will serve as proof of your registration until the registration and tabs arrive.Arizona car registrations are valid for 1 year, 2 years, or 5 years. You may also be exempt from paying the vehicle license tax of your registration fees. The DVM offers a special non-operational car registration for non operation vehicles which are neither to be driven nor parked on the communal street. Check your renewal notice or current registration to see which due date applies to your vehicle. The state also charges a vehicle license tax (VLT) at every registration and renewal. Along with the documents mentioned above, you should also provide a Special Military Exemption Affidavit, (Form 96-0240) signed by your commanding officer. Renew a Non-Operational Vehicle. Registration processes for other vehicle types, such as ATVs, custom-built cars, and RVs or motor homes, can be found at our page on Other Vehicle Registrations. If you're already driving a registered vehicle in Arizona and need renewal information, visit our Registration Renewal page for the full scoop. You are responsible for renewing your registration by the due date whether or not you receive this courtesy notice. If you wish to re-register a non-operational vehicle that was registered within the last 5 years, visit your MVD office with: The car's vehicle identification number (VIN). Proof of vehicle ownership (e.g., notarized car title, Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin [MCO]). If your vehicle fails the initial or any subsequent emissions test, you will not be charged a penalty fee for late registration renewal if the original test was before the registration expiration date and the registration renewal is completed within 30 days of the original test. Vehicle title, registration renewal, custom and specialty license plates, duplicate driver's license and ID, and more. To certify that a vehicle with an expired registration was not operated on any public roadway in Arizona from the registration expiration date until the date of application for renewal. Photo identification (e.g., driver's license, ID card). You remain in the state for 7 months or more in one calendar year. For detailed information on titling, visit our Arizona Title Transfers page. Your expiration date is printed on your registration document. One form of identification (driver's license, ID card). Present a completed Penalty Fee Waiver (Form 48-9402). Early renewal is based on an emissions test requirement. The annual public safety fee will be collected for vehicle registration periods that begin prior to July 1, 2021, in accordance with Arizona Revised Statute 28-2007. If it's a standard plate and it is in stock, you should receive it before you leave. Any newly purchased vehicle – new or used – must be registered before it can be driven. Planned non-operation (PNO) means that the vehicle will not be driven, towed, stored, or parked on public roads or highways for the entire registration year. For more information, including vehicles exempt from the emissions program, visit our AZ Smog & Emission Checks page. A completed Title and Registration Application (Form 96-0236). A vehicle owner or lessee who does not operate a vehicle on a highway of this state is not required to meet the requirements of section 28-4135 during the period in which the vehicle is not in use if the requirements of subsections B through F of this section are met. Join 1,972,984 Americans who searched for Car Insurance Rates: COVID-19 Effects on Registration Services. Permanent registration will be issued for some trailers. If you're deployed overseas and your spouse remains in AZ, the vehicle license tax will still apply, provided your name is listed on the car's title. To certify that a vehicle with an expired registration was not operated on any public roadway in Arizona from the registration expiration date until the date of application for renewal. You can also use our automated phone system at 1.888.713.3031. A $25 fee is charged for any check returned by a financial institution and may result in cancellation of vehicle registrations and driving privileges. Military members who are residents of Arizona should follow the same steps listed above for vehicle registration. The results of your test will be automatically sent to the MVD. For complete information on titling, visit our Arizona Title Transfers page. Proof of a Level I inspection, if applicable. The annual public safety fee will be collected for vehicle registration periods that begin prior to July 1, 2021, in accordance with Arizona Revised Statute 28-2007. Quickly access ADOT services. Follow the MVD's recent updates for the latest information. For more information, please see the Vehicle Services FAQ. To learn more about exemptions, fees, and the testing process, visit our, An emissions compliance form, if applicable (this. Proof of car insurance that meets, at the very minimum, Arizona's required coverage amounts: $15,000 per accident for property damage. State law requires that you register your vehicle with the Arizona Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) immediately after establishing residency. Proof of vehicle insurance. Please check your inbox (including spam box). 2005 Arizona Revised Statutes - Revised Statutes §28-4152 Nonoperation of vehicle on highways of this state; exception; certification A. You will need to submit your vehicle title, a completed application form, and proof of ID, as well as pay the required fee. This can usually be done the same day at an MVD full-service station. If you've lost your registration, visit our. Make sure you have an active car insurance policy when registering your vehicle. Compare rates and buy your policy online: Visit the Insurance Center >>. Learn more under the “Selling" section on our Title Transfers page. To renew the expired registration of a vehicle that has been non-operational for an extended period of time, visit your local MVD office and: Present your license plate number or VIN. In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, state DMVs nationwide have closed driver licensing offices, extended license and registration expiration dates, and/or limited the transactions they are processing. The fee applies for a full year of registration and isn’t prorated. To avoid a penalty fee your online or phone renewal must be completed on or before the due date or your mail-in payment must be postmarked by the due date. All MVD offices accept cash, check or money orders. In addition to the standard license plates available, the Arizona MVD also offers a wide variety of specialized license plates for an additional cost. Note that the value of your vehicle is calculated as 60% of the original manufacturer's retail price, and that total will be lowered by 16.25% at every registration renewal. NOTE: If you plan to transfer the license plates credit from another vehicle to a new vehicle you must do so within 30 days . Some registrations are due on the last day of the month, others are due on the 15th of the month. The Arizona Motor Vehicle Division requires you to register your vehicle in person at a branch office. To register, visit your local Arizona Motor Vehicle Division office with: The MVD will mail you the registration documents and license plate tabs; the paper receipt will serve as proof of registration until the registration and tabs arrive. Your AZ car registration will be good for 1 year, 2 years, or 5 years. All MVD offices accept checks, money orders or cash. Civil Rights/ADA | Derechos Civiles/ADA | Website Policies. Check or money order to cover the $5 replacement fee and first class postage. If you decide to establish residency in Arizona, you'll need to apply for an Arizona car registration certificate. Emission tests are required for residents of Phoenix and Tucson. To drive it for an emissions test, vehicle inspection, or to the MVD to register it, you may apply for a restricted use 3-day permit. This form verifies that your vehicle has not been driven on any state roads and, therefore exempting you from past due registration … Be sure to cancel the registration before canceling the car insurance. If you live in Phoenix or Tucson, you will also be required to pass an emissions test. To learn more about obtaining a title, check out our Title Transfers page. This form is provided by your state's agency/department. If you've requested a specialized license plate, the MVD will mail it to you. When you renew, your record is updated instantly and your receipt is your proof of registration. Vehicles exempt from emissions testing are eligible for registration for 5 years. An emissions compliance form, if applicable. Call before visiting to make sure. If you do not have all of the required documentation listed above to register your vehicle, you will need to apply for a temporary registration valid for 90 days . Summary: How to Register Your Car in Arizona. If your vehicle is exempt from emissions testing, you are eligible for the registration for 5 years.